The first Trainwreck Saloon opened in Rock Hill, Missouri, July 2, 1982 by George and Kris Hansford. Dating back to 1890, the Trainwreck in Rock Hill is considered to be the oldest continually operated tavern in St. Louis County.
Upon its opening, great care was taken to restore and preserve the structure. The original back bar is still in use today. In 1992, a caboose was added to the Beer Garden, serving as a conversation piece. In 1995 an innovative bar was built in and around the caboose, making Rock Hill’s Beer Garden one of the most unique patios in St. Louis. The Trainwreck in Rock Hill continues to be the definitive neighborhood tavern. After surviving a flood in 2009, a dining room was added, adding seats for year round dining. The Trainwreck in Rock Hill continues to be the definitive neighborhood tavern.